All NewsMore News


Operatives of the Lagos State Environmental and Special Offences Unit (Taskforce) were attacked by 14 commercial motorcyclists operating on restricted routes during an enforcement exercise in Oshodi recently.

CSP Olayinka Egbeyemi, Chairman of the Agency disclosed that the motorcyclists, supported by hoodlums during the attack, wounded a paramilitary officer attached to the Agency and damaged operational vehicles.

He added that immediately after they attacked the operatives of the Agency, the motorcyclists and others involved ran into a compound at Igbehinadun Street, Oshodi to take refuge, adding that the enforcement team chased them to the compound to arrest them and other miscreants smoking Indian hemp in the building.

According to him, “many suspects among the commercial motorcyclists plying restricted routes and miscreants, who damaged the Agency’s operational vehicles and inflicted wounds on the paramilitary officer were eventually arrested”.

While noting that the injured officer, Mr. Innocent Okoro, is presently receiving treatment at the hospital, he revealed that 200 commercial motorcyclists plying restricted routes and driving against traffic were apprehended with the support of another enforcement team from Lagos Island.

The Chairman averred that the Lagos State Road Traffic Law of 2012 empowers the Agency to carry out enforcement operations on motorists and commercial motorcyclists operating within the State, as well as ensure that all road users abide by all traffic rules and regulations.

CSP Egbeyemi also stated that after preliminary investigations and screening, 18 out of the 46 suspects initially arrested have been released, adding that the Lagos State Commissioner of Police CP Hakeem Odumosu has since directed that the remaining 28 suspects be prosecuted.

While urging all motorcyclists and road users across the State to operate within the ambit of the law, the Chairman restated the determination of the Agency to ensure that all residents comply with the Lagos State Road Traffic Law of 2012.

Show More
Back to top button