Chat with us, powered by LiveChat
More News



The World Environment Day (WED) celebrated yearly on the 5th of June, is the United Nations’ principal vehicle for raising awareness and encouraging global action for the protection of the environment.It has been a flagship campaign for raising awareness on emerging environmental issues such as marine pollution, overpopulation, global warming, sustainable consumption and wildlife crime.
Since its inception in 1973, WED has grown to become a global platform for public outreach, with participation from over 143 countries annually. Each year, WED has a new theme that major corporations, NGOs, communities, governments and celebrities worldwide adopt to advocate environmental causes.
Over the years, various individuals and corporate organisations have continued to contribute to the process of making the environment better. Most of these individuals and corporate organisations are often not noticed or recognised for their contribution to the environment.
In view of this, the Lagos State Government through the Ministry of the environment has instituted an Environment Award tagged ‘’Lagos Green Award’’ and now invites nominations from members of the public. The Lagos Green Award is designed to recognise individuals and corporate entities that have contributed to making Lagos Environment better.
Lagos Green Award will recognize individuals, groups or businesses whose actions improve environmental resilience in the city of Lagos in any of the following areas:
• Environmental management
• Best environmental practices
• Oil spill management
• Health, safety & environmental performance
• Waste prevention & recycling
• Solid Waste Treatment & disposal
• Emissions control technologies
• Natural Resources Conservation
• Innovation and Sustainable Solutions
This level of recognition is competitive as participating units will be assessed against separate sets of environmental performance criteria which may encompass some of those used in the assessment of the various sectors.
The number of awardees will be limited to one Gold Award, one Silver Award, one Bronze Award for each sector. The sectors are:
(a) Construction industry;
(b) Property management;
(c) Transport and logistics;
(d) Retailers;
(e) Hotels, restaurants and catering companies;
(f) Financial institutions; and
(g) NGOs and public sector
(H) Industry
(I) Etc.
Nominations or Entries must clearly identify an environment initiative and how it had, or continues to have, an impact on Lagos State.
Entries can be submitted to:
The Permeant Secretary,
Ministry of the environment,
Block 16, The Secretariat Annex, Alausa,
Ikeja, Lagos
Alternatively, you can email:,
Closing date for entries is May 18, 2018.
Show More

Related Articles