More News


The Lagos State Secondary Schools Hockey Competition has been scheduled to hold between April 18 – 20, 2018 at the Campos  Mini Stadium,  Lagos Island.

The Competition, organized by the Lagos State Sports Commission and the State Hockey Association is planned for all Secondary Schools (Public and Private) to discover potential Hockey Players in the State.

The Tournament will feature 14 schools (male and female teams) and each team is required to register a maximum of 16 players, while the Schools and Students information would form part of the Lagos State Hockey Association’s database.

The Competition, designed to serve as a genuine platform to identify potential players from the participating Schools, would be played on a knockout basis for the Male Category, while the female tournament will be decided on Round Robin basis.

Participating male teams are Okemagba Senior High School Epe, Eletu Odibo Senior High School, Bariga, C. M. S. Grammar School, Bariga, St. Patrick’s Grammar School, Epe, Fazil’loma Senior High School, Iwaya, Igbaja Boys Senior Secondary School, Surulere and King’s College, Lagos.

The female teams include Igboye Community High School, Epe, St. Patrick’s Grammar School, Epe, Oke Magba Senior High School Epe, Euba Junior Secondary School, Mushin, Marywood Girls College, Ebute Meta and Surulere Girls Senior Secondary School, Surulere.

Executive Chairman, Lagos State Sports Commission, Dr. Kweku Adedayo Tandoh, stated that the Competition is one of the many Grassroots Sports development competitions for Secondary Schools in Lagos State approved by Governor Akinwunmi Ambode to encourage students participation in sports and aid discovery of budding talents for the State.

“Governor Akinwunmi Ambode recently gave approval for us to organize some school Sports Competitions. This hockey Tourney is one of them, the other ones will come in succession”, he said.

Winning schools in both the male and female categories will be rewarded with fabulous prizes such as Sports equipment, Hockey balls and Hockey Sticks, while individual Players will be given medals and certificates of participation.

Also, prizes will be given to the Most Valuable Players (MVP) in the male and female categories,  Best Defenders, Best Behaved Teams, Best Goalkeepers (Male and Female) and Highest Goal Scorer (male and female).

Meanwhile, the Lagos State representatives dominated the just concluded National Under-12 and Under-14 National Handball Competition at the Rowe Park Sports Complex, Yaba.

The Team Lagos won two of the four titles leaving 13 other States to compete for the two remaining titles in the Under -15 boys category with Lagos defeating Niger State’s team 24-21 after the penalty shootout while the Lagos Under-15 girls emerged winner in the series that also had Niger, Bayelsa, Ogun and Abia States. The Lagos girls won all the four games played to emerge Champions.

For the Individual Awards, Fatoki Christian of Lagos and Babatunde Taiwo were both adjudged the Most Valuable Players (MVP) in Under-15 male and Under-15 female categories respectively. The highest goals scorer award in the Under-15 female category was won by Babatunde Taiwo with 45 goals.

Show More
Back to top button