Latest NewsNews


Kassim Yusuf Adegboyega of Epe Girls Senior High School and Ogundipe Oluwakemi Dorcas of Okesuna Junior High School have emerged as overall Best Teachers in Senior and Junior categories respectively at the just concluded 18th Annual Merit Awards of Lagos State Education District III. 

The Merit Award which is a yearly event in Education District III is a platform created to showcase and give recognition to the best teachers in the district, as a form of encouragement to continue to contribute their best towards the advancement of education in Lagos State. 

In his address at the ceremony, the Tutor-General/Permanent Secretary of Education District III, Dr. Olufunke Oyetola acknowledged the giant strides that have so far been recorded in the education sector by Governor Babajide Olusola Sanwo-Olu’s administration since its inception. 

She advised teachers whose efforts have not been recognised not to be discouraged but instead continue to be diligent and dedicated to their duties for improved performance. 

Also speaking at the event, a member of the House of Representatives representing Epe Federal Constituency, Hon. Wale Raji, who was also a recipient of the District Exceptional Leader Award, said that he was delighted that teachers are now being motivated and recognised for their sacrifices. 

He commended successive administrations in Lagos State for advancing the State’s educational sector, just as he urged the government to pay more attention to the welfare of teachers posted to riverine areas by providing them with amenities that would enhance their performance. 

The Special Guest, NUT National Treasurer and the recipient of the Inspirational Leader Award at the event, Comrade Segun Raheem, emphasised the need for teachers to be committed to their duties at all times. 

He urged teachers to display total commitment, diligence, love and passion in the discharge of their duties. 

Other award recipients at the ceremony include the Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Folasade Adefisayo; former TG/PS of Education District III Otunba Ayo Obajimi and Dr. Yinka Ayandele among others.

Show More
Back to top button